Like the Cool Kids

“Ew! Your lips are dark! Are they supposed to be like that?”

“I chose him, I’m sorry.”

“Where’s Johnny? Oh he’s not here..okay. Hey Adrian what’s up?”

“I don’t know, I just don’t love you anymore”
“I met someone…”

The first quote was a kid on the first day of Kindergarten,
The second, my first attempt at love,
The third, a girl I thought saw me for me,
The last two,

well…

Matthew 14:29-31

He said, “Come.” So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.” Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”

I haven’t had the hardest life, but I definitely have had my share of rejection..and I carry those rejections with me like a weight around my ankle.

I have been given many great opportunities to further advance my life, and to be completely honest I am the happiest I have been in a long time. This past year truly has been one that I am grateful for, however despite all of the fortune and blessings I have received, it is still extremely difficult for me to commit to taking a risk in certain areas. Much like how Jesus walked out in the middle of the sea and Peter went after him, I too have that eagerness to leap into the places God is calling me to, but exactly like Peter, I start to doubt.

“What if i’m not good enough..”
“I’m way too ugly”
“I’m not cool enough”

These are just a few thoughts that cause me to sink. Jesus asked why I doubt, well it is probably because history has shown me that I am not enough.

As great as life has been going so far, there are still many times where I doubt. What I need to remember is that God is the one that I must trust, not myself, not them, but Him.

Leave a Reply

